About Us

  • Home
  • Administration


Before the Chieftaincy Declaration made under Section 4(3) of the Chiefs Law of 1957 of the former Western Region, Baale ruled over the people of Atikori. In the early times, the selection of Baale was through keen competition of affluence.

One of such early Baales was Liwo Oluwu from Oriwu. He was reported to be the only person on whose authority most areas of Atikori were partitioned among various families and interest groups. Some other Baales believed to have ruled over Atikori were Gbesan Ololu (Aboyin), Osodimu Agboidu (Etitale) and Adebajo (Oridan). The last of such Baale was Oloyede from Okemoje.


The Chieftaincy Declaration of 1957 upgrade the position of Baale to that of a Minor Chieftaincy described as Olori-Ilu. The selection to the minor chieftaincy rotates among the eight quarters grouped into four ruling quarters, namely Bogije/Etitale, Oriwu/Oridan, Igodo/Aboyin and Okemoje/Ituntapa.

Chief Abraham K. Odubanjo from Bogije/Etitale ruling quarter was the first Olori-Ilu appointed under the said Declaration 1957.

After the demise of Chief Abraham K. Odubanjo in 1983, Chief Joseph Otubu Odubanjo from Igodo/Aboyin ruling quarter was installed the scond Olori-Ilu in 1989.

The arrangement was made possible by an agreement between Oriwu/Oridan ruling quarter, Igodo/Aboyin and other quarters in Atikori to yield the position to Igodo/Aboyin ruling quarter that has an influential candidate. It was in the spirit of the said agreement that Oriwu/Oridan ruling quarter reclaimed her slot after the demise of Oba Joseph Otubu Odubanjo in 1997.


In 1996 the Ijebu Traditional Council with the approval of the State Government, granted coronet to Atikori town with the title of Kegbo chieftaincy.

Oba Joseph Otubu Odubanjo formerly the Olori-ilu was installed the first Kegbo for Atikori with coronet. He joined his ancestors in January 1997.

Alayeluwa Oba Ibitoye Solaja, the incumbent Kegbo was enthroned on 1st December 2001. In July 2004 the State Government under the leadership of Otunba Gbenga Daniel (then Governor of Ogun State) approved the upgrade of the Kegbo Chieftaincy title to a recognized Part II Category with prescribed authority.

Some notable traditional chieftaincy titles have been created under this authority. They are: Balogun, Egbo, Iyalode, Erelu Kegbo, Babajiro, Sobaloju, Odofin, Ajiroba, Olutu Pampa, Babaloja, Iyaloja and other Osugbo chiefs, like Liwo, Jawo, Apena, Olurin and Akannoran. Other tranditional religious groups such as the egungun masquerades, hunters, olorisas and traditional healers are allowed to create chieftaincy titles in line with their belief but subject to approval by the Kegba of Atikori and his chiefs.


The people of Atikori believe in the existence of spiritual forces that influence the lives of mankind. They believe that the origin of the world is traceable to a Supreme Being generally known as God or Olodumare. Before the advent of colonialism, the indigenes of Atikori worshipped many deities that served as direct intermediaries between them and God or Olodumare. Some of those traditional religious practices existing till today are ogun, egungun, oro, sango, orisanla and many others.

At the inception of Christianity and Islam in Ijebu land, Atikori people warmly embraced the two religions. The first organized Church was built beside the Atikori Market (Ram and Goat Sections) now the present site of St. James School ground, Atikori, Ijebu-Igbo. Ven (Later Bishop S. O. Phillips) laid the foundation of the Church on November 30, 1932, The Church was dedicated on May 9, 1946 by Bishops A. B. Akinyele and S. C. Phillips and Ven. J. O. Lucas aided by thirty-nine clergymen. Similarly, the first mosque was built at Itamosugbo in Atikori and the first Chief Imam of Ijebu-Igbo Central Mosque was Imam Aliyu also from Atikori Town.